Waiting At The Gate: Vienna – Beijing

Over the next few weeks I will be in China and I am really looking forward to it. While I am away I aim to keep a bit of a journal about my time there, so the posts will be a little different to what I would normally produce. So here goes….

I am waiting on the connecting flight at present in Vienna airport to take me to the sights and sounds of the Chinese capital (I’ll be honest, it is not the biggest or best airport, but I am thankful for the excellent little booths they have made to allow space to work and write in). Although Beijing receives a lot of media attention and there are many articles, videos and blogs describing various aspects of the city I cannot help but feeling a sense of the unknown.

I have never been to Beijing before, in fact I have never been to mainland China before, but there is one thing in particular that I am looking forward to experiencing and that is the size of the city. Yesterday I traveled from south to north across London and it was striking that the main urban areas of the capital are very low level. Yes there are high rise, but not on an industrial scale. With such a huge population, vast urban development, the second busiest metro network in the world Beijing will even make London seem like a smaller city by comparison.

One of the things I have struggled with in the lead up to leaving and I know I will struggle with while I am away is not having my Wife and daughter with me. Jennifer is always a source of encouragement, wisdom and fun while I am travelling. Not only that, she is excellent at finding space in a bag where it is physically impossible to find anymore. As for Sophia, she is a whole 10 1/2 months old and is so much fun. I will miss some of the little things like her giggle, practicing roaring in the morning and reading stories just before bed time. Although we don’t rejoice in being apart from each other, we know why we do it and are convinced that it is more than worth it in the light of eternity.

That’s us just about to board….

10 hours to come and then its time for a much need shower and rest before our first venture into China

Leave a Reply

